Airport Time

5/2/2016

It’s been a few days since I arrived in Germany, and everything is so lovely, but  Internet access has been a little spotty!

I'd never been on a flight quite this long before, but it was SO very worth it!!

I’d never been on a flight quite this long before, but it was SO very worth it!!

The first night, I stayed in a youth hostel (Jugendherberge) just off the Rhine river (on the Rhein Promenade).

I could not believe how lovely this place was!

I could not believe how lovely this place was!

My room overlooked a playground, and there were kids running around and playing for the entire day on Sunday! I’m traveling with a friend, and once we’d settled in, we walked around, bought meals to-go, and generally took in the sights.

We found little white flowers scattered in-between the S-Bahn (streetcar) tracks...

We found little white flowers scattered in between the S-Bahn (streetcar) tracks…

 

...the ever-busy playground...

…the ever-busy playground…

And a beautiful park, where we catnapped the afternoon away!

And a beautiful park, where we catnapped the afternoon away!

Not to mention that our rooms were pretty great!

Not to mention that our rooms were pretty great!

I’m just loving this so much—so happy I’m in Europe, that I have a buddy to do this with, and that I had such a good experience on my first couple of days here. When I came back to my room, I even found a sweet roommate who was happy to welcome me to Europe, and who made for a great conversation partner!

We’ll be settling into our dorms tomorrow and getting registered for our classes at the Geothe Institut, and I really have no idea what to expect.

If nothing else, I hope to find some Spaghettieis soon!

Xoxo,

Susan

 

Leave a Reply

