Fluency?

5/5/2016

Today was a holiday, so I spent the day doing one of the most exciting things I could think of…you guessed it. Sitting in a coffeeshop, not managing to get even halfway caught up on everything on my plate at the moment. (My phone didn’t even keep the picture of my beautiful raspberry-cake breakfast…so sad!)

Europe is beautiful, but it’s frustrating, somehow, having been placed into B 2.3, because essentially everyone I encounter tells me that my German is “sehr gut”—even some of the students in the C1 level, and some of the teachers, and storekeepers in town! Yet I’m just not quite there, I guess. Perhaps I could be, if I were willing to do the work, but I guess it’s a bit late to complain.

On a more positive note, we did manage to play our first round of Settlers of Catan in German this evening…!

On a more positive note, we did manage to play our first round of Settlers of Catan in German this evening…!

I guess the biggest thing to remember is that I’m here for the experience–whatever that means, both the good and the bad. I’m here to enjoy myself, to learn as much as I can–and sometimes, when I think of it, to share with the folks back home. 😉

Xoxo,

Susan

Leave a Reply

