WELCOME TO ITALY

6/2/2016

One thing that I’ve always wanted to do is visit Venice. So when my friend in Camposampiero, a tiny town half an hour from the city of my dreams, invited me to come down for a weekend, there was no way I was going to turn that down.

Not even if it meant getting on a train at an ungodly hour of the morning!

Not even if it meant getting on a train at an ungodly hour of the morning!

I arrived in Campsampiero in good time, and Sophia picked me up and whisked me away to grab coffee and pastries. (Has anyone read Relish by Lucy Knisley? One thing I absolutely HAD to eat in Italy was a croissant filled with orange marmalade, something she described with such…er…relish? Anyway, by chance, that was exactly what I ordered!)

IT WAS DELICIOUS.

IT WAS DELICIOUS.

That was the general theme of the meals in Italy—too amazing not to enjoy utterly and completely. On the first afternoon, Sophia and I made our way to Citadella, a beautiful city with ancient walls that you can walk along.

Hi, Citadella! Hi, the corner of Sophia’s red umbrella!

Hi, Citadella! Hi, the corner of Sophia’s red umbrella!

IMG_20160602_172358

A little windblown, but having fun!! 🙂

After that, it was time for some exercises in language immersion…I succeeded in ordering my own drink in a bar, and fell in love with peach juice, something which I’m pretty sure exists only in Italy. I didn’t take any photos of it, but it was succulent and smooth as silk. This is the kind of juice you can live off of. I mean, I would come back here just to drink this stuff again.

We also visited Sophia’s friends, who spoke mostly Italian and little English. One guy spoke German, and while he wasn’t in the mood to do German with me just then, he was very impressed with my pronunciation of the 2-3 words I knew of Italian!

Can you say “pizza?”

Can you say “pizza?”

What a great first day!!

Xoxo,

Susan

2 thoughts on “WELCOME TO ITALY

  1. Sally Bund says:

    Susan, throughout your blogs, I have loved your focus on photographing and enjoying food – not only beautifully presented, but also delicious! Your descriptions and images of your gastronomic adventures, combined with your attempts to speak like the natives (“pizza?”), are great fun to read! I wanted to be there with you for the orange marmalade croissants… It must have felt sad to leave Germany, but now you are having a great time in Italy!! Sally

    Liked by 1 person

    • Susan LaMoreaux says:

      Dear Sally,

      I’m so glad you’ve been enjoying my posts! It’s been great fun documenting everything, as everything around me is so new and thus so very exciting. I spent the first weekend of this month in Italy, and am now back in Germany, continuing to study here until the end of June! It was a big decision for me, choosing to stay longer, but I’m so very glad it’s what I’ve decided to do. I have a lot more photos left from Italy, though, and more adventures from Germany, all coming soon!

      Lots of love,
      Susan ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

